Home / NEASC Virtual Global Forum
#NEASCforum header image
August 11, 2020 - 9:00 a.m. ET

Planning for a successful start: Preparing for back-to-school during COVID-19

Part 1 - Elementary school focus

For this webinar, we have invited teachers from public, independent, and international Pre-K–8 schools to share some practical tools and tips they are implementing to get their classrooms — virtual, in-person, and/or hybrid — ready for what looks to be a very unpredictable school year.

Part 2, to be held on August 25th, will focus on high school teachers.

Guest panelists:

David Barton
Teacher, Grade 5 
Falmouth Elementary School - Falmouth, Maine, USA 
[public school, K–5] 

Abbie Calvert 
Teacher, Pre-kindergarten 
The Friendship School - Waterford, Connecticut, USA 
[public magnet school, PK–Kindergarten] 

Jolene Cummings 
ELA Teacher, Grades 6–8 
Next Generation School - Dubai, United Arab Emirates 
[international, K–12] 

Heidi Freeman 
Teacher, Grade 2 
American School of The Hague – Wassenaar, The Netherlands
[international, PS–12] 

Lori Özmay 
Teacher/Coordinator, Grade 3 
Bilkent Laboratory & International School (BLIS) - Ankara, Turkey 
[international school, PK–12] 

Kristin Roberto  
Teacher, Grade 5 
Mercymount Country Day School - Cumberland, Rhode Island, USA 
[private, Catholic, PK–8] 

 

Approximate webinar run time: one hour
Session will be recorded and made available after the event.

Webinar Format

As of July 2020, we will be scheduling #NEASCforum webinars twice monthly. All Forum sessions will be approximately one hour in length, and will start at the following time:

9:00 a.m. ET (New York, USA)
2:00 p.m. BST (London, UK)
5:00 p.m. GST(Dubai, UAE)
9:00 p.m. CST (Shanghai, China)

We are listening

Thank you for joining the webinars, contributing your questions, and sharing your thoughts with us. We are tracking the questions and topic suggestions webinar attendees have submitted and will continue to develop future sessions based on your interests. 

#NEASCforum

We created the "NEASC Virtual Global Forum", our ongoing webinar series, as a space where educators can connect, have pressing questions addressed by their peers and experts in the field, and where colleagues can share their stories and insights.

We at NEASC believe that learning can happen anywhere and anytime and encourage you to embrace current circumstances as a chance to pilot some creative new learning opportunities — for both students and staff. We hope this new series will be a source of inspiration as you forge ahead, and we look forward to the ongoing conversations.

Warm regards,
Cameron C. Staples
President/CEO, NEASC